Mistakes

I was walking along the cracked footpath on my way back home. The moonlight shed a dim light down, just enough to let me see where I was going. The street-lights were suffering a similar fate to those of the surrounding houses, that of a power failure due to the weather. The wind blew hard against my face , stinging my bright blue eyes and making my long blonde hair flow out behind me. I was unable to move quickly as the cracked pave-stones were liable to trip you if, as in my case, they were invisible in the dim light. It was going to be a long walk home. I had just moved into a house of my own and I wasn’t looking forward to getting back as the wind seemed to be able to get in from everywhere. The house would creak and groan and I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get to sleep. It was an old house; cheap but not too well kept. It was old, but it was all that I could afford. So, I kept moving on towards home, secretly hoping someone I knew would come to me, offering to let me stay in his or her nice warm flat.

Not long after this, I heard a car approaching. In the back of my mind, I imagined it was a friend, out to find me to offer me a nicer place to stay for the night. I knew the chances were minimal, and yet to my surprise, the car pulled over and a boy got out shouting,

Hey Sara, want to go for a spin?”

I recognised the voice, even though it sounded rather slurred, although my brain didn’t seem to consciously register this at the time. He was one of my school friends, and I knew him well. I was so glad that I wouldn’t have to walk home in the icy, stinging wind that I didn’t think about the fact that he was probably drunk.

Sure Tris,” I answered happily, pleased at getting out of such a harsh wind. As soon as I’d replied he jumped back into his car, eager to get out of the cold night air I assumed.

Due to Tris’ headlights, I could now see the cracked pave-stones, and so ran over to the black Mercedes and stepped inside, slamming the door closed behind me. Then I noticed something strange. Not only was there an odd smell of booze hanging in the late night air, but Tris had the windows wide open. I finally realised on a conscious level that he must be quite drunk by this stage and acknowledged the mistake I had made in my haste to get out of the wind. I should not be in the car. I should have known by the sound of his voice that he was drunk. I went to get out of the car, as I didn’t want to get into trouble if he caused an accident, explaining to him,

Tris, I just remembered… uh… I… uh… can’t take a spin with you. I have to get out,” desperately trying to open the door. No luck. They must be childproof locks. Or Tris had locked them using the central locking system the car no-doubt had. Tris had been watching and saw what I had been trying to do and had put the electric windows halfway up, so that I couldn’t reach out and open the door from the outside. I was inside and staying there. The respite I was hoping for from the weather outside was non-existent and now I was in a worse situation than I had been when I was walking.

You won’t be going anywhere. You’re coming for a spin with me,” is what I made out from Tris’ slur. It wasn’t easy to understand him anymore and I was beginning to scare myself thinking about what he was going to do.

He started the car and sped down the road, way over the limit. My heart raced and I feared for my life. We came towards a sharp bend and I knew something would happen if I couldn’t stop Tris.

Tris, shouldn’t you slow down?” I pleaded. An evil laugh was my reply. We approached the bend, but just before we attempted the turn, something darted out across the road. KERCHUNK! The car spun out of control and over a nearby hedge. It seemed to roll for quite some time, and everything was happening in slow motion. Eventually the car stopped, luckily, the right way up.

I thought I was dead. I almost hoped it. Questions, millions of questions sped through my mind. What had we hit? Where was it now? What would we do? What would happen to us if it was dead and it was Tris and I that had killed it? These were just a few I actually managed to grasp as they flew through my head.

I opened my eyes to try and identify the area. We were quite far from the main road but it was still in sight. We seemed to be in a field. I moved my arms and legs and wiggled my toes. I seemed to be alright. Then I saw the blood. It seemed to be coming from my head, somewhere. I couldn’t feel where the blood was coming from, which couldn’t be a very good sign. I put that to one side for now. I needed to see how Tris was. I turned my head in his direction, experiencing a sharp, agonising pain in my neck as I did so. Still, the pain subsided to a just-bearable throb as I stopped moving, and I had been able to move it far enough to see Tris. His blonde hair was covered with blood. He appeared to have a huge gash down his leg and the blood poured from it. He wasn’t moving.

I tried to make sense of what was happening. Why, if I wasn’t so badly hurt, was Tris in such a bad state? When I noticed it. I had put on my seatbelt, without realising it, as it had become a habit over the years. Tris hadn’t. He must have been thrown able the car more and that’s why he was in such a bad way. I moved my arm cautiously, trying not to move much in case I hurt my neck again. I shook Tris arm gently, calling his name quietly. No response. I called louder, more franticly. Nothing. I moved my hand down his arm to his wrist, and tried to find a pulse. I was glad I had done some first aid training. I hoped I would feel something, even something faint, but it was still. He was dead.

I began to fully panic. Even though he almost killed me, I didn’t want him to be dead. But there was no doubt about it. Suddenly I had a flashback. A dark figure had darted out in front of the car. I had to find a way out, to see if the person, or thing, was alive.

I was in luck. The impact of the car hitting the ground had opened my door. I gave it a hard shove with my foot to open it fully and clambered out. I stumbled to the ground in agony. My neck was so painful, I actually thought I was going to be physically sick. I couldn’t, wouldn’t give up. I climbed to my feet, being careful not to move my head and started out towards the road. Why hadn’t I just walked home? What would I find on the road? Dead or alive? This was the last thing I remember before I collapsed in a head on the ground, unconscious.

 

This entry was posted in Short / Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

